WEEKLY WRAP UP/WEEKEND COUNTDOWN

What got me through the week and what I’m looking forward to this weekend!

img_2815
Starting the day off on the right foot

Let’s be honest, the first few weeks after the holidays can be a bit of a bummer.  All that buildup and anticipation, and suddenly it’s gone so quickly.  In an effort to beat the wintertime blues, I always try to make a list of things I want to do during the season, things that are best to do inside, whether it be visiting a new museum or attempting a DIY project.  Here’s a list of what’s been getting me through the post-holiday season and what I’m looking forward to.  Have a great weekend!

  1. Postcards from the Edge: After the recent passing of both Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher I’m more intrigued than ever in learning more about their special and complicated bond.  Fisher wrote this book, which eventually became a movie, and I have it on my “must-read” list.  
  2. Free Museum Days: A trip to the Art Institute has been on my to-do list for a while, and there’s no time like the present to make a visit.  I love checking out museums in the winter, since it’s a great way to spice up a weekend while still being indoors.  I’ll also be making another trip to the history museum this weekend, while my fiance’s parents are in town, and I plan on using this guide to the free admission dates for my future visits.
  3. Awards Season: I’m a huge fan of awards shows and luckily for me, all the major ones occur in the winter, right after the new year, which always gives me something to look forward to.  The Golden Globes took place this week, followed by the SAG awards at the end of the month and it all ends with the Oscars next month.  In preparation for Oscar night, I try to see as many nominated films as possible and just started my research seeing La La Land last weekend (I highly recommend it!).  One of my favorite sources for all things award season is the podcast Little Gold Men, from the writers of Vanity Fair.  It gives all the insight to the major awards categories and offers some much appreciated insider knowledge.  
  4. DIY project: I’m the first to admit that I’m not all that crafty.  DIY projects usually give me anxiety because I truly feel like if I attempt to do it myself, the final outcome will look nothing like how I pictured it.  But a while back, like over a year ago, I saw a cork board at one of my favorite restaurants that was made entirely of wine corks.  Ever since then, I’ve been hoarding corks, all the while delaying actually doing any crafting.   I finally reached the tipping point and decided to give this project a try, so I ordered some wood and a glue gun from Amazon and plan on starting this project this weekend.  I found this tutorial to use as a guide and will share my results in the future…if it turns out well!

Images via here and here.

Leave a Reply

