WEEKLY WRAP UP/WEEKEND COUNTDOWN

What got me through the week and what I’m looking forward to this weekend!

IMG_3197
The cheese section at the new Whole Foods really speaks to me

Spring is starting to overcome the chilly days and I’m so thankful.  It’s been a rainy, but slightly warmer week and I’m ending it with a quick trip back east to visit NY to check out some wedding bands and spend a weekend at home with my family.  Here are just a few examples of what I’m excited to try this weekend.  I hope you have a great weekend and try out some of these spring ideas too!

shoespasta

  1. Stacked heels: Now that spring is starting to show its signs, it’s time to think about spring fashion and, more importantly, spring shoes! After months of keeping our feet bundled in Uggs, Sperry boots and thick socks, it’s time to let them breathe and start sporting all the warm weather trends.  One thing I’m loving is the lower, stacked heel option in both mules and sandals.  After years of towering in high heels, my feet are beginning to feel the pain and it’s time to test out some lower, easier to navigate options.  I recently purchased this pair of snakeskin sandals from J.Crew, for an unexpected neutral, but I’m also loving the selection at Marais, which features both slides and strappy versions in neutrals and bright colors.  
  2. Feud: I’ve always been a fan of Hollywood, and especially old Hollywood.  It’s no surprise then that the newest Ryan Murphy franchise Feud, about the tension between stars Bette Davis and Joan Crawford, is right up my alley.  But even if you’re not the biggest old Hollywood aficionado, you should still give this miniseries a watch.  It’s an interesting look inside the real life tension of two larger than life, independent women in an era when men ruled all.  For some backstory before you binge, check out the episode of the You Must Remember This podcast highlighting this story.  
  3. Spring Pasta Salad: Pasta primavera is a staple spring dish, especially given the bounty of fresh vegetables that are available during the season.  I saw this recipe in the most recent issue of the Food Network Magazine and I can’t wait to make it this weekend.  It seems simple, yet fresh and flavorful thanks to the veggies and seasonings.  This dish is the perfect thing to have for a weekend dinner, when it’s warm enough to think Spring but still slightly chilly enough to enjoy a warm dish of pasta.  Try it out!
  4. Victoria Beckham for Target collection: I have been a fan of Victoria Beckham for years, since her Spice Girl days in the nineties! I even went to the Spice Girls reunion tour in 2008 and eventually chopped off all my hair into her chic bob circa 2009.  I’ve always been an admirer of her clothing line, which features tailored pieces with clean lines and chic colors and is both feminine and masculine at the same time.  I was obviously thrilled to learn of the affordably priced collection she was launching with Target, which features pieces for women, including plus sizes, and for girls.  I’m equally as excited to shop for my niece as I am for myself.  Check it out April 9th!

Images via here and here.

Leave a Reply

