Vintage Basics

Inspiration for the new week!

IMG_3191

Just when spring starts to show it’s warmth, we get a brief spell of chilly weather.  Although it’s been off and on with sun and shade, one thing you can’t leave the house without is layers.  Lucky for me I have some favorites layering staples that are not only cozy, but also have special meaning to me.  For a recent afternoon trip to the neighborhood’s gigantic and luxurious new Whole Foods (it has everything you could want/need/imagine), I opted for a few cozy pieces to keep me warm.  One of them was my Pa’s (grandfather) vintage Tour De France crewneck sweatshirt.  My Pa loved cycling and he always looked forward to the French race every year.  When he passed, this sweatshirt is one thing I kept and I’m so happy I did.  Not only is it cozy and pairs just as well with jeans and a beanie- as I styled it here- as it does with sweats for lazy lounging, but I think of him fondly every time I wear it.  

The other prized possession I’m sporting in this ensemble is my Grammy’s vintage purse, which I also kept when she passed.  It’s a taupe, pebble leather Dooney and Bourke that is over 20 years old and yet, is timeless.  I wear it all the time, as it pairs with so much and is a great size (lots of small, hidden compartments), and again, I can’t help but think of her and smile whenever I wear it.  I love that both of these items have withstood the test of time and can still feel fresh.

Do you own any pieces that also have a sentimental meaning to you?

IMG_3192IMG_3194 (2)IMG_3195

Fashion Note: I’m wearing a vintage sweatshirt, Gap denim jacket (similar  here) , Zara jeans (similar here), vintage Dooney and Bourke bag and Minnetonka booties.  

Leave a Reply

