WEEKLY WRAP UP/WEEKEND COUNTDOWN

What got me through the week and what I’m looking forward to this weekend!

farmers market
the freshest produce from the local market

The week or two after a long weekend can seem to move simultaneously fast and slow.  I had a great July fourth weekend, filled with time spent outside, friends, good food and summer cocktails, and I followed that up with a busy few days at work, a birthday celebration (for my fiance), and some overdue wedding planning, among many other things.  This weekend will be spent continuing the birthday celebrations and wedding planning, but I’ll be sure to sip some summer wine and take a minute to read my summer book.  Enjoy the weekend!

  1. The best inexpensive roses: As I’ve previously mentioned, rose season is in full swing.  But like with all wines, some are better than others and getting a decent wine that’s inexpensive isn’t impossible, but you have to know what to look for.  I’ve been loving cans, like Underwood, especially for outdoor summer activities, but this list is a great source for quality bottles.
  2. Farmer’s market produce: I’ve been documenting some of recipes I’ve made thanks to an abundance of fresh produce at my local farmer’s markets.  Going to the market is one of my favorite summertime activities, and with so many new options close by this summer, I’ve been making it a point to try and visit once a week, often to different markets.  The result is plentiful options, but sometimes it’s hard to know what’s in season and what to expect.  This guide is a helpful source for your next farmer’s market trip!
  3. Style secrets to live by after 30: I stumbled upon this Who What Wear article recently, just before my post-30 birthday. The advice rings very true to me and I found most of the advice to be spot on, from the fashion mistakes I also committed in my twenties to the sartorial advice I’ve started to adapt to this next chapter of my life.  The advice is helpful and wise, with great outfit suggestions.
  4. The Rules Do Not Apply: This memoir, written by a staff writer of The New Yorker, has gotten a lot of buzz recently and I was intrigued to see what all the fuss was about.  While I thought I knew the general events that occurred in this novel thanks to articles I read beforehand, I was wrong.  This memoir is surprising, honest and at times gut wrenching, but it encourages a mindset of thinking that’s very refreshing.
Leave a Reply

